I am a Wayland resident and a father. I believe it makes sense to buy more time, in the form of a 6-month moratorium, on recreational marijuana retail establishments in our town. There is currently a statewide moratorium on sales of recreational marijuana until July 1, 2018. I believe that Wayland should impose a moratorium that would push that date back to December 31, 2018.

Since recreational marijuana was made legal in Massachusetts for those 21 or above last November, more than 100 Massachusetts municipalities have imposed bans, moratoriums or zoning restrictions on commercial marijuana businesses. Earlier this month, Natick became the latest town to pass a moratorium, joining our neighbors Lincoln, Sudbury, Wellesley and Needham in doing so. Weston banned the sale of recreational marijuana outright. Hudson officials voted against such a ban.

The vote on Wayland’s moratorium vote will be held this coming Tuesday night, November 14, at a Special Town Meeting at the Wayland High School Fieldhouse. A two-thirds majority is required to pass the moratorium. (At the spring town meeting, residents supported the moratorium 185-109, just nine votes short of the 2/3 threshold.) If the moratorium does not pass, applications for recreational pot retailers will start being accepted on April 1 and potentially five pot shops will be able to open on December 31, 2018.