Wayland Transparency - Facts Without Spin
    http://www.waylandtransparency.com/

Quote Originally Posted by John Flaherty View Post
    School Committee breaks Open Meeting Law again
    Same As It Ever Was
    Same As It Ever Was
    Same As It Ever Was
    Same As It Ever Was
    John, the only thing "Same As It Ever Was" is your childish taunt devoid of any substance and linking generically to your Drudgesque hobby site.

I read through the April 28, 2014 Attorney General Office's opinion. With the caveat that I'm not a lawyer and that I may not fully be understanding the nuances of the Open Meeting Law, I'll share my substantive thoughts here.

Let's take the three alleged violations in the order that they occurred rather than in the curious order in which the Attorney General's Office addressed them.

Quote Originally Posted by Office of the Attorney General
    3. The Topic "Personnel Matter" in the [School] Committee's Posted Notice was Insufficiently Specific.
    I don't disagree with this opinion, but do disagree that the lack of specificity was intentional and worthy of a $1,000 fine. The lack of specificity might have been an inadvertent inattention to detail or more likely an attempt not to divulge damaging information about a school employee. Should the Committee have done better? Perhaps. Was it guilty of an intentional deceit? The Attorney General offers no evidence to support this claim.

2. The Committee Improperly Entered Executive Session When a Member Other Than the Chair Stated the Purpose for the Executive Session.
    I don't know the history of why only the chair is allowed to state the purpose, nor can I imagine why that would matter. This "violation" strikes me as being of a highly technical nature and in no way contrary to the spirit of the Open Meeting Law.

1. The Board improperly entered executive session under Purpose 7 because the issue discussed was not protected by the statutory right to privacy.