Angela Lordi
    Wayland, MA

To: Wayland Board of Selectmen:
    Steven J. Correia (Vice Chair),
    Thomas J. Fay
    Joseph F. Nolan (Chair)
    Michael L. Tichnor
    Susan W. Pope.

I am a 22-year resident of Wayland, and a customer of COMCAST, who supply cable TV, telephone, and Internet service to the town of Wayland.

Recently, COMCAST was pressured to make pubic their policy toward customers who (in their words) “over-utilize” their Internet service. COMCAST has been well-known to contact customers who transacted more data across their Internet Connection than they deemed appropriate and terminate their accounts. However, when COMCAST was asked what that limit was, they would not specify it, as they did not want to appear (for marketing reasons) to be selling Internet service with data restrictions. As this became more known the public, COMCAST was pressured to be explicit about this limitation (they admit this on their website).

Just yesterday, COMCAST announced (“proudly” as if it were a good thing for its customers) that the limit on data transmitted was 250 gigabytes and declared that “99% of their customers use no where near that much”. They put a “usage meter” on their website, and declared that customers who exceeded that limit would be contacted and if the “over-usage” continued, their contracts would be terminated. There is no tiered service available for customers who wish to purchase accounts with higher limits.

It is true that most users use less than 250 gigabytes, because most users do not use their Internet connection for more than casual web surfing and email. However, a growing number of people are beginning to use the Internet for other purposes, including:

· Television (many TV programs are available on-demand from websites such as hulu.com, WebTV and AppleTV),
    · Movies (e.g. NetFlix, Blockbuster and Amazon),
    · Music download (e.g. iTunes),
    · Cloud computing (on-line software such as GoogleDocs), and