Thread: Cochituate, a Village of Wayland

Default Cochituate, a Village of Wayland

There's something pleasant about the image of living in a village. I'm a resident of Cochituate Village, and as such, can walk to the Town Beach, to the Cochituate Ball Fields, to my bank, and to numerous shops. Moreover, I'm just a short drive from almost any store imaginable, one of my company's offices, and a major highway that can (sometimes) zip me in to Boston or start me on a journey to almost anywhere (my longest foray to date has been a drive to Cheyenne WY).

Cochituate is an excellent village, but none of the above would disappear if the village boundaries disappeared (www.city-data.com). No, I'm defined much more by the borders of Wayland, in large part because it's the political entity that matters.

A frequent contributor to the Town Crier letters to the editor section and the accompanying discussion board (including here) likes to point out that Cochituate makes up a majority of the town's voters, typically in combination with statements about Cochituate's relative lack of affluence compared with North Wayland (the latter ranking 3rd in the Commonwealth if it were its own town, the former ranking a still impressive 27th). The contributor also makes the curious point that Cochituate, despite its majority presence, somehow lacks a corresponding political impact. And most recently, the contributor makes the statement that Cochituate has not voted in favor of an override since 2003.